Another talk and book signing for Run at Destruction this week!

I got a warm welcome from the PaceSetters. This running club has been in

Kathy Jankowski, the PaceSetters President with Me

Kathy Jankowski, the PaceSetters President with Me

existence for 25 years – both promoting and celebrating health in the Fox Valley of Wisconsin. 

As I explained how I got endorsements from the Best Selling True Crime Author, Ann Rule, and from Sean Hartnett, a correspondent for Track  & Field News the supportive running folks gave me applause. Then as I read excerpts from the first chapter about my best friend, Pam, that continues to bring a sting to my eyes, I watched the audience’s amazing response – they  became mesmerized.

P1020073To detail the extensive research that I conducted – required to tell the right story- I provided an anecdote: In the Brown County Courthouse, for four months, I scanned three massive boxes of court records into my laptop, plugging parking meters every two hours. While doing this tedious job, I listened to books on tape. One day, by mistake, the earphones became unplugged, so I kept turning up the tape player’s volume…. Someone finally tapped me on the shoulder and informed me that the entire office was listening to a suggestive sex scene. Boy – was I embarrassed!

Following my talk – I took extensive Q&A before signing and selling books to nearly everyone that attended.  I’ve always known that runners are special – this talk certainly reconfirmed it!
