In my book, Run at Destruction: A True Fatal Love Triangle, my best friend

Pam Bulik with my son Collin at our 1982 Bellin Run Party

Pam Bulik with my son Collin at our 1982 Bellin Run Party

 Pam always struggled with her weight after the birth of her two children. It definitely was one motivator for why she ran. I know it was for me as well. Six weeks after having Collin, I began to train for the October Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon.  It certainly helped me drop my weight and got me back in shape.

While preparing for my talk for the Cellcom Green Bay Marathon Sponsors on May 15, 2009, I chuckled to see the reason Dick Lytie, our former running Guru, also began to run. His son Dan said that when Dick was turning 40, he’d scratched his belly and realized it was protruding way further than he liked! He joined the YMCA and started to jog. He had a  streak going –  never missed a day until his death in 1994.

Yesterday, seated next to my husband as the two of us drove up to Door County for the weekend, I was reading excerpts out loud from a book a running friend

Dave Elger's New Book

Dave Elger's New Book

of ours, Dave Elger, just wrote. It seemed so simple to follow his recommendations on diet and exercise!  I certainly was motivated… and with the Cellcom half-marathon, the Bellin Run, the Munising Run and the Nike Women’s half marathon on the horizon, I vowed to  eat better by increasing my fruits, vegetables, and fiber.    

However, as we all know, it is far easier said than done!      

